Scholarship Committee

The OATA Scholarship Committee is composed of Athletic Trainers in the State of Ohio. This committee is charged with the review and scorring of all application letters and recommendation letters for students applying for the OATA college/university Scholarship, the OATA Family Scholarship and the OATA Student Leadership Award.

All scholarship applications are due December 1st

 The Tony Ortiz  Scholarship for DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION

The Diversity and Inclusion Committee of the Ohio Athletic Trainers’ Association will award one $2,000.00 scholarship to a deserving student of an ethnic or socially diverse background accepted to or currently enrolled in an athletic training program  at an Ohio Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training Education (CAATE) accredited institution .

The OATA defines diversity as the range of human differences, including but not limited to, race, ethnicity, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, social class, physical ability or attributes, religious or ethical values system, national origin and political beliefs.

Click HERE to apply for the Tony Ortiz Scholarship for Diversity and Inclusion

Applicants for the scholarship MUST:
  1. Have an ethnic or socially diverse background as described above
  2. Have a 3.0/4.0 cumulative grade point average at the time of application
  3. Be an OATA member
  4. Be accepted or currently enrolled in an athletic training program at an Ohio CAATE accredited institution  
Application Materials:
  1. Complete the Application Form
  2. Digitally provide three letters of recommendation from a licensed health care professional, educator, community member or coach
  3. Digitally provide a one page personal statement essay
  4. Digitally provide a current transcript of academic completion
  5. Provide proof of OATA membership


Family Scholarship Award

Click HERE to apply for the Family Scholarship

  1. Applicant must be the son or daughter of a current active member of the OATA whose length of membership is a minimum of five (5) years.
  2. Applicant must fulfill the following criteria:
    • Currently enrolled in at least the second year of post-high school education
    • Not yet having completed a BS or BA Degree
  3. Applicant must be nominated by a current OATA member in good standing.
  4. The applicant must be in good academic standing with a combined GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. 
  5. One time stipend of $1,000.


College/University Athletic Training Student Scholarship Award

Click HERE to apply for the College/University Scholarship

  1. Applicant must be currently enrolled in an Ohio college or university pursuing a degree with the intention of becoming an Ohio Licensed  Athletic Trainer of the OTPTAT Board and a member of the OATA. More than one applicant from the same college/university may apply for this scholarship.
  2. The applicant must currently be either a junior or senior in good standing in that college or university.
  3. The applicant must have a minimum of 2 years experience under the supervision of an Ohio Licensed Athletic Trainer of the OTPTAT Board.
  4. The applicant must have a minimum of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale of "B" or better.
  5. Applicant must be sponsored by an OATA member who is a licensed AT in Ohio. 
  6. One time stipend of $1,500.

Application Process

  1. Application may be obtained from the OATA Scholarship Committee Chair or via the OATA website.
  2. The following documents must be submitted:
    • Completed application form, including essay by the student
    • Two (2) letters of recommendation: These letters may come from the student’s coach, teacher/professor, physician, etc. Each letter will include references to the applicant’s character, work habits, attitude, professionalism, and contributions to school and community.
    • Official Transcripts.
    • Application deadline: December 1st
    • Candidate may receive award one time. Candidate may reapply in subsequent years. 
  3. All applicants will be judged on their own strengths and merits.
  4. Application should be completed online or emailed to [email protected]
Richard Crowther
Marietta College

Jeromy Alt
University of Cincinnati

Kim Barber Foss

Eric Brooks
Miami University

Michelle Godek

James Muncy

Erin Scheper